Jeanie, will you sing the “Crayon Song?”

crayons

For those of you who knew me in my days at the Evergreen State College, you may remember a song I wrote titled “Periwinkle, Lemon Yellow, and Violet Blue.”    Or affectionately aka “Jeanie, will you sing the Crayon Song?”

While my creative drive is enjoying a renaissance, projects from the Deep are rising to the surface like a Mermaid to share their delicious mystery again with the world.

My friends called me Mermaid and Dolphin as Singers from the Deep Wells of Mystery — drawing the listener into a deeper part of themselves, into a heart that had been forgotten,  awakening the sleeping, dreaming child within.

That’s what this song is like.  A memory lane dive into the Oceans and Islands of our child’s imagination and memory.

Our Singer’s story is a remembrance of cherished times with Sister during childhood:  The games they used to play and the stories they told with picture, word and song.  It is a celebration of the beauty, the freedom and the creative imagination we all possess.

Over the years I’ve had ideas about what I wanted to do with this song.  The most significant being, creating a Children’s Book companion for the images that are evoked by the song’s story, and a Cd of the music to accompany.  Since this song was never recorded when I was in the studio, I’m thinking its now time to breathe the life back into this dream of my most requested song.

I’m looking for a handful of Musicians to help flesh out this tune with Bass, Percussion, perhaps a Horn or two.  And who knows…..

I’m feeling its time for the whole story to sing itself, to color itself on the pages, and surface this Mermaid singing from the deep.

So stay with me as the story unfolds, with illustration and news about the recording, and best of all, the Singing!

p.s.  sorry there is no audio available at this time.  I’ll keep you posted!

4 Responses to “Jeanie, will you sing the “Crayon Song?””

  1. leah Says:

    Oh, how exciting! Best of luck with your ongoing project!

  2. MaryKate Says:

    Lovely thing to remember, Miss Jeanie! I’m sure that it will unfold exactly as you and the Divine create it together!


    mk

    • Jeanie Anthony Says:

      Yes, I am being Divinely nudged on this one. The flow is strong. I originally was looking for someone to illustrate the book for me, and now it is quite clear that my own hand and heart will be drawing the pictures…..in the style of my original art books made as a child. Bring out the Crayons!

Leave a Reply

